This morning I confirmed what I’d vaguely suspected before: 2-year-old hints that I deleted yesterday have reappeared on the same ancestor’s profile page. I deleted them again, so we’ll see what happens.
While I’m on the subject, I’ve also come across profile pages in my tree that have large numbers of “archived” hints. I don’t think I’ve ever archived any hints since the earliest days of my account, when I archived two or three just to see how it all worked. So I’m wondering if perhaps hints I deleted are being archived instead, obliging me to delete them again.
In case it matters, “Show archived” is unchecked in my Hints & To-Dos list setting. Also in case it matters, I do create To-Dos quite often. I don’t know if that has any effect on the Hints function.